By/ Last Modified On February 11, 2024
Wondering what Jersey Mike’s gluten-free menu options are?
As someone with gluten sensitivity, I personally understand how hard it is to find “safe” places to eat when I’m on the go. But every once in a while, a fast food restaurant comes through.
If you’ve been missing out on your favorite sub sandwich, Jersey Mike’s gluten-free menu might change your life. Just saying.
Wait, Is Jersey Mike’s Gluten-Free?
You might be wondering, “Does Jersey Mike's have gluten-free bread?” The answer is yes! While this sandwich restaurant is best known for its white and whole wheat sub sandwiches, Udi’s sub rolls can be substituted for nearly every hot or cold sub on Jersey Mike’s menu.
Discover more about Jersey Mike’s GF menu.
Is There a Separate Station for Gluten-Free Subs?
I couldn’t find conclusive information on separate stations, but it seems that this may vary between franchises.
That said, Jersey Mike’s takes celiac-friendly food seriously. Team members are trained to put on new gloves before opening packages of gluten-free sub rolls. They are obligated to use sterilized knives and separate utensils that haven’t touched other bread products. GF sandwiches are prepared on sheets of parchment paper to avoid contact with gluten.
Note: If your local Jersey Mike’s shop seems confused about preparing gluten-free sandwiches, we’d recommend avoiding the risk. Be sure to contact management to lodge a complaint.
Tell Me More About Jersey Mike’s Gluten-Free Bread
Back in 2017, Jersey Mike’s gluten-free options partnered with Udi’s. For food safety, this completely gluten-free bakery prepares and individually seals each roll before sending them out to the sandwich giant.
Is Udi’s Gluten-Free?
Udi’s makes all of Jersey Mike’s gluten-free sandwich bread. It’s the “#1-selling dedicated gluten-free brand” in the United States, meaning that all of Udi’s products are certified gluten-free as well.
Which Jersey Mike’s Subs Are Gluten-Free?
Jersey Mike’s gluten-free menu applies to all but two sandwiches. Just like every other restaurant, celiacs and people with gluten allergies should alert staff about dietary restrictions when ordering.
Fun fact: You can also make any sandwich into a salad bowl!
Gluten-Free Cold Subs at Jersey Mike’s
The following products can be made gluten-free at Jersey Mike’s:
Related: If you’re a lobster roll lover, you’ll love these deals on fresh lobster!
Gluten-Free Hot Subs at Jersey Mike’s
Many reviewers say that cold sandwiches tend to fall apart, and that hot sandwiches are preferable. However, cooking equipment can risk certain gluten exposure, so ask your local Jersey Mike’s team when ordering. They should clean the grill properly before setting your sub on it!
Jersey Mike’s Gluten-Free Breakfast
If your local Jersey Mike’s offers breakfast, you can ask to replace your Kaiser roll with gluten-free bread instead.
Breakfast options may not be recommended for celiacs due to cross-contamination of kitchen surfaces. Ask the Jersey Mike’s team before ordering.
The Two Jersey Mike’s Subs That Can’t Be Made Gluten-Free
You can substitute Udi’s bread for nearly every hot and cold sub at Jersey Mike’s. However, there’s no getting around the wheat flour included in these two subs:
What Extra Ingredients Can I Add to My Subs?
- Vegetables (e.g., onions, lettuce, tomatoes)
- “The juice” (i.e., red wine vinegar and olive oil)
- Extra cheese
- Pickles, banana pepper, jalapeños, cherry pepper relish
A Note about Jersey Mike’s Sauces
I dug around for official information on Jersey Mike’s sauces, but their website’s menu doesn’t seem to provide those. Rather than offer an unofficial opinion, I recommend asking the restaurant staff for more details.
While mayonnaise is typically gluten-free, it isn’t safe for celiacs if the tools or bottle tips touch non-GF bread. For safety, I’d recommend grabbing individually sealed sauce packets and adding them yourself.
Which Chips at Jersey Mike’s Are Gluten-Free?
Because sandwich franchises operate in all 50 states, there will probably be some variation in the chips being offered. However, there are certainly options for gluten-free chips at Jersey Mikes. These are some of the most popular:
The following varieties of Miss Vickie’s Chips are gluten-free: Jalapeno, Sea Salt Original, Sea Salt & Vinegar, Sour Cream & Herbs, and Farmhouse White Cheddar
Unless it’s Simply Organic White Cheddar Doritos, no other Doritos flavor can be considered gluten-free.
There are tons of Frito-Lay products on the market, so be sure to consult Frito-Lay’s gluten-free menu.
Does Jersey Mike’s Have GF Desserts?
Surprisingly, yes! The restaurant chain offers a sealed, gluten-free Snickerdoodle cookie!
Finally: A Sandwich Shop for Everyone
Unlike most fast food restaurants, Jersey Mike’s gluten-free menu is surprisingly substantial. With fresh ingredients and high-quality meats and cheeses, you won’t be stuck with a sad salad or bag of chips anymore. And since this restaurant has 2,600+ franchises in 50 states, you probably have a sub shop near you!