These gluten-free rice krispies treats are our spin on the classic treat. We’ve included all the tips and tricks and a list of cereal options you can use.
You can make these gluten-free rice krispies treats dairy-free as well, with a simple swap.
Love quick and simple gluten-free desserts? Try these gluten free brownies next.
Why You’re Going to Love these Gluten-Free Rice Krispies Treats
Easy to make – This classic recipe is simple to make gluten-free, using gluten-free ingredients found at most grocery stores.
Simple Ingredients – With only four ingredients, this recipe is quick to pull together.
Feeds a crowd – This recipe makes a 9 x 13 pan of gluten-free rice krispies treats. There’s plenty to share.
Ingredients in Gluten-Free Rice Krispies Treats
Butter – You can use regular dairy butter, or a dairy-free butter if you need dairy-free gluten-free rice krispie treats.
Marshmallows – Most brands of marshmallows are gluten-free, but please check all labels before purchasing.
Gluten-Free Crispy Rice Cereal – While Kellogg’s Rice Krispies used to be gluten-free, they now have malt barley flavoring, which is not gluten-free. But don’t’ worry, there are lots of gluten-free options you can use. See our notes below.
Vanilla Extract - Make sure to use pure vanilla extract. Always check labels to make sure they are gluten-free.
If you have any questions about the ingredients in these gluten-free rice krispies treats, please leave them in the comments below.
How To Make Gluten-Free Rice Krispies Treats
- Line a 9-inch x 13-inch pan with parchment paper and grease with a neutral-flavored cooking spray. In a large pot, melt the butter on low heat.
- Add in the marshmallows.
- Stir until they are completely melted.
- Add the gluten-free crispy rice cereal and vanilla extract, and quickly stir until the melted marshmallows are evenly mixed into the cereal.
- Using a buttered spatula or buttered hands, evenly press the mixture into the prepared pan. Cool completely. Cut into 2-inch squares.
Please see the printable recipe card below for the instructions and ingredients.
Are Kellogg’s Rice Krispies Gluten-Free?
Kellogg’s regular Rice Krispies are sadly no longer gluten-free. They contain barley malt flavoring. However, they do offer a gluten-free version that uses brown rice and doesn't contain any barley malt. There are also several other gluten-free crispy rice cereals that you can use to make gluten-free rice krispies treats.
Gluten-Free Crispy Rice Cereal
Here are a few gluten-free crispy rice cereals that we’ve found:
- Nature's Path Organic Gluten-Free Crispy Rice Cereal
- Mom's Best Crispy Cocoa Rice Cereal
- Kellog's Rice Krispies Gluten-Free Cereal
- One Degree Sprouted Brown Rice Crisps Cereal
- Barbara's Bakery Brown Rice Crisps Cereal
Also, Aldi’s also makes a gluten-free crispy rice cereal, but we don’t have an Aldi’s near us, so we haven’t tried them yet.
Related: Check out our full list of the most delicious Gluten-Free Cereals.
Are Marshmallows Gluten-Free?
Marshmallows are not made with any gluten ingredients and are typically gluten-free. Where you might find gluten added is during processing. Always check labels.
How to Store Gluten-Free Rice Krispies Treats
Gluten-Free Rice Krispie Treats are best stored in a sealed container at room temperature. You can store them in the refrigerator, but you’ll want to bring them to room temperature before you enjoy them.
Can You Freeze Gluten-Free Rice Krispies Treats?
Yes, you can freeze gluten-free rice krispies treats. They can be placed in a plastic freezer bag and frozen for up to 3 months. You’ll want to bring them to room temperature before enjoying.
Dairy-Free and Vegan Rice Krispies Treats
For a vegan option, swap the butter for a dairy-free butter and use vegan marshmallows, like Dandies.
More Gluten-Free Dessert Bars:
Gluten Free Lemon Bars – These lemon bars start with a buttery, crunchy crust, are filled with the perfect lemon filling, and topped with a dusting of powdered sugar. They are perfect for sharing.
Gluten Free Seven Layer Bars – Also known as gluten-free monster bars, these seven-layer bars are simple to make and they are perfectly sweet for when you are craving a candy bar.
Gluten Free Turtle Bars – Buttery and rich with caramel and chocolate, these gluten-free turtle bars are perfect for sharing with guests or bringing to parties.
Did you make these gluten-free rice krispies treats? Leave us a comment below letting us know which gluten-free crispy rice cereal you used.
- 4 tablespoons butter
- 1 package (10 oz., about 40) marshmallows
- 6 cups gluten free crispy rice cereal
- 1 teaspoon gluten free vanilla extract
- Coat a 13 x 9 x 2-inch pan with cooking spray or butter; set aside.
- In large saucepan, melt butter over low heat.
- Add marshmallows and stir until completely melted. Remove from heat.
- Add the gluten free crispy rice cereal and vanilla extract, and quickly stir until the melted marshmallows are evenly mixed in to the cereal.
- Using a buttered spatula or buttered hands, evenly press the mixture into the prepared pan.
- Cool completely.
- Cut into 2-inch squares.
- Use dairy-free butter to make these dairy-free
- Use dairy-free butter and vegan marshmallows to make these vegan.
Amount Per Serving: Calories: 66Total Fat: 3gSaturated Fat: 2gTrans Fat: 0gUnsaturated Fat: 1gCholesterol: 8mgSodium: 78mgCarbohydrates: 9gFiber: 0gSugar: 1gProtein: 1g
This nutrition info is based on the exact ingredients and brands that I used a the time. It may not be 100% accurate. Please check your ingredients nutrition labels.