By Hayley Simpson / Last Modified On May 4, 2023
If you follow a gluten-free diet, you may think you need to give up your beloved bowl of cereal for breakfast (or dinner, we don’t judge). We’re here to prove this suspicion wrong!
At Gluten-Free Palate, we’ve already compiled an extensive list of gluten-free cereals. Are frosted flakes gluten-free? From Kellogg’s to your FAQs, we’re here to shine a light on choosing the most delicious celiac-friendly products.
Are Frosted Flakes Gluten-Free?
Do frosted flakes have gluten? We hate to break it to you, but there’s no straight answer to this question. It all comes down to the brand’s ingredients and facilities.
Are Kellogg's Frosted Flakes Gluten-Free?
No, Kellogg’s Frosted Flakes aren’t gluten-free. We’re happy to break this answer down for you.
According to the official Kellogg’s website, the three main ingredients in Kellogg’s Frosted Flakes are milled corn, sugar, and malt flavor. Later in the process, they add extra vitamins and minerals like iron, folic acid, and vitamin B12.
Does Malt Flavor Have Gluten?
While milled corn and sugar are gluten-free ingredients, malt flavor isn’t. Unfortunately, malt flavoring is a sweetener made from barley, a glutinous grain.
Because barley isn’t featured on the ingredients list, you might mistakenly think it’s a good decision for your diet. Kellogg’s Frosted Flakes do not carry a gluten-free label (which is regulated by the FDA). What’s more, when you do a bit of digging, Kellogg’s also confirms that Frosted Flakes are wheat-free but not gluten-free.
Other Frosted Flake Brands That Contain Gluten
If you strictly follow a gluten-free diet, these are other frosted flake brands to avoid:
- 365 by Whole Foods Market Organic Frosted Flakes - This product includes three organic, gluten-free ingredients without a gluten-free label. This may be due to gluten cross-contamination during the manufacturing process.
- Best Yet Frosted Flakes Cereal
- Full Circle Frosted Flakes
- Good & Gather Organic Frosty Flakes from Target - Another product we assume to be cross-contaminated with gluten during the production process.
- Great Value Frosted Flakes from Walmart. The ingredients list includes barley malt extract.
- Malt-O-Meal Frosted Flakes. Barley malt extract is listed as an ingredient.
- Nasco Frosted Flakes
Our Favorite Gluten-Free Frosted Flake Brands
While we don’t recommend Kellogg’s Frosted Flakes for people with celiac disease or gluten allergies, there are definitely brands out there producing gluten-free frosted flakes.
A lot of gluten-free consumers turn to Nature’s Path for their breakfast and snack needs. It’s easy to see why: All of their products are organic and most are gluten-free. Their Amazon Frosted Flakes are made from three ingredients: organic cornmeal, organic cane sugar, and sea salt.
If you enjoy them, we recommend checking out their other gluten-free corn flakes, like Honey’d Corn Flakes. These include the same three ingredients as above and a touch of honey. They’re thick, crunchy, and don’t get soggy in milk. Music to our ears!
The other option we recommend is the Fruit Juice Corn Flakes. Just as crunchy, they’re made from cornmeal, pear juice concentrate (instead of cane sugar), and sea salt.
Okay, we’re kind of cheating with this one. While Frosted Cheerios aren’t exactly “flakes,” they taste just as good. The main ingredients are 100% whole-grain oats, sugar, cornstarch, corn syrup, and salt. Each serving contains 12 essential vitamins and minerals, too.
Are Cheerios Gluten-Free?
Cheerios take gluten-free products seriously, processing and testing their oats using recommended methods from the Celiac Disease Foundation. The company also uses state-of-the-art equipment and processes to sort its oats from gluten-containing grains. You can rest assured that every bite you take is gluten-free.
Gluten-Free Alternatives to Frosted Flakes
Looking for other gluten-free cereals besides Frosted Flakes? You’re in luck! There are plenty of options available, but here are our top picks for popular categories.
Gluten-Free Plain Cornflakes
Want the flakes without the frosting? These plain cornflakes are our current favorites:
- Barbara’s Corn Flakes
- Nestle Go Free Gluten-Free Corn Flakes
- The Real Cereal Company Organic Corn Flakes
Gluten-Free Rice Krispies
How can you make gluten-free Rice Krispies treats without a gluten-free puffed rice cereal?
- Barbara's Bakery Organic Brown Rice Crisps Cereal
- Kellogg’s Gluten-Free Rice Krispies
- Nature’s Path Organic Gluten-Free Crispy Rice Cereal
- One Degree Organic Foods Sprouted Brown Rice Crisps
Fun Gluten-Free Cereals
Who says these fun cereals are just for kids? Adults can also enjoy these gluten-free cereals for any meal:
DIY Gluten-Free Breakfast
If you want something completely different, why not make your own gluten-free breakfast at home? Instead of a cold bowl of gluten-free cereal, switch things up with a cozy bowl of paleo pumpkin porridge or grain-free hot cereal. They’ll keep you warm and full until lunchtime!
Frequently Asked Questions
Are Frosted Flakes Dairy-Free?
Kellogg’s Frosted Flakes are dairy-free, as they don’t contain milk or any milk-containing products.
Are Frosted Flakes Vegan?
Frosted Flakes are not vegan. Vitamin D3 is commonly created from lanolin and sourced from sheep’s wool. Kellogg’s confirms that their vitamin D3 is derived from animal sources.
Is Malt Flavoring Gluten-Free?
Does malt flavor have gluten? Yes, it does! Malt flavoring is made from barley, a gluten-containing grain.
Pour Yourself a Bowl!
Now that you know whether frosted flakes are gluten-free, we think it’s time to eat breakfast for dinner. Be sure to check out our full list of gluten-free breakfast recipes!
Leave a Question or Comment