By/ Last Modified On May 3, 2023
Finding a cereal that’s suitable for a gluten-free diet isn’t always a walk in the park. Unfortunately, if you’re new to the lifestyle, you might not realize that your favorite cereal is made with glutinous ingredients like wheat and barley. Today, we’re focusing on one of the most popular breakfast cereals in the world.
Are corn flakes gluten-free? Here, we explain why this answer isn’t so straightforward. We also share some of our gluten-free cornflake brands and other gluten-free breakfast cereals to make your morning as relaxed as possible.
Are Corn Flakes Gluten-Free?
You’d think the answer would be an immediate “yes” because corn is a gluten-free grain. Unfortunately, like so many food products on the market, there is no straight answer. It all depends on the brand, its ingredients, and its production facilities.
Related: Shake up your mornings with our paleo pumpkin porridge!
Are Kellogg’s Corn Flakes Gluten-Free?
When thinking of corn flakes, your brain probably visualizes a big box of Kellogg’s – the brand that started it all. Unfortunately, they’re wheat-free but not gluten-free.
If you have a look at the ingredients list, Kellogg’s Corn Flakes contain malt flavor. This is a sweetener made from barley, a gluten-containing ingredient. In fact, many brands of corn flakes are made with malt syrup flavoring or extract (which contain gluten).
But that doesn’t mean there aren’t plenty of gluten-free corn flakes available.
Our Top Gluten-Free Cornflake Brands
Here are our recommendations for gluten-free corn flakes.
Barbara’s Organic Corn Flakes tick several boxes. Only three ingredients are used to make these gluten-free corn flakes: organic milled corn, organic cane sugar, and sea salt. Most importantly, they’re
- non-GMO certified
- organic certified
If you’re looking for light and crisp corn flakes that taste just like traditional corn flakes, Barbara’s is our top pick. Plus, they’re perfect for processing and turning into a crispy fried chicken coating or our family-friendly, gluten-free chicken nuggets.
Nature’s Path is synonymous with gluten-free and organic products. The company offers an extensive range of gluten-free cereals, and we especially love the range of kids’ gluten-free cereals (Koala Crisp, anyone?).
According to the website, they strictly adhere to the FDA’s rule regarding gluten-free labeling. If there are less than 20 parts per million (PPM) of gluten in a product, it’s labeled as just gluten-free. If there’s less than 10 PPM, the product has a Gluten-Free Certified label.
When it comes to corn flakes, you have three options.
Honey’d Corn Flakes
First is Honey’d Corn Flakes. They’re Gluten-Free Certified, organic, and non-GMO. They’re also made with only four whole food ingredients: cornmeal and/or yellow corn flour, cane sugar, honey, and sea salt. Their claim to fame? The corn flakes are so thick that they stay crunchy – even in milk!
Amazon Frosted Flakes
The second option is Amazon Frosted Flakes. Remove the honey from the above ingredients and you’ve got a box of gluten-free frosted flakes. Expert taste testers state that these are the most similar taste-wise to Kellogg’s Corn Flakes. The best part is that proceeds from every box bought help endangered blue macaws and their habitat.
Fruit Juice Corn Flakes
The final option is Fruit Juice Corn Flakes. While these have the same features as the Honey’d Corn Flakes, the cane sugar is replaced by pear juice concentrate. We think the pear juice gives it just the right amount of natural sweetness.
Nestle Go Free Corn Flakes are gluten-free and kosher, with five vitamins and minerals. The renowned brand’s Go Free gluten-free cereal range also includes Honey Flakes and Rice Pops. Fun fact: it’s the number one cereal brand in the UK and has the Coeliac UK mark of approval. In the US, you can buy it on Amazon.
The Real Cereal Company
The Real Cereal Company takes its Organic Corn Flakes to another level. Made with only two whole ingredients (organic corn grits and sea salt), each piece of cereal is lightly dusted with sea salt and then oven-roasted to make it perfectly crisp. If that doesn’t get your attention, they’re also non-GMO and contain zero sugar.
On The Real Cereal Company website, you can create your own cereal box, too. You choose the cereal and then the toppings of your choice (e.g., organic dried fruit, nuts, maple syrup, honey). When you become a subscriber, your daily breakfast is sorted to your exact specifications!
Corn Flake Brands With Gluten
Does your preferred corn flake brand contain gluten? All of these corn flakes are made with some variety of malt flavoring:
- Great Value Corn Flakes Cereal from Walmart.
- Happy Belly Cornflakes from Amazon.
- Kellogg’s Corn Flakes and Frosted Flakes.
- Nature’s Path Heritage Flakes
- Waitrose Corn Flakes (if you’re based in the UK).
Corn Flakes with a Gluten Cross-Contamination Risk
We’ve covered gluten-free and gluten-containing corn flakes. But what about cornflake brands in that gray area? Here are a couple of examples. To be safe, we’d recommend choosing one of the options above that include a gluten-free label.
365 by Whole Food Market
365 by Whole Foods Market offers Organic Corn Flakes and Organic Frosted Flakes. The only three ingredients in the corn flakes are organic milled corn, organic cane sugar, and sea salt. These are naturally gluten-free ingredients.
However, both boxes don’t contain a gluten-free label. While we can’t be 100% certain, we must assume the possibility of cross-contamination during the production process.
Good & Gather Organic Frosty Flakes
Good & Gather is a brand exclusive to Target. Once again, the only three ingredients in their Organic Frosty Flakes are organic corn, organic cane sugar, and sea salt. The only two labels you’ll find are USDA Organic and non-GMO – not a gluten-free label. Therefore, a person with serious gluten allergies or celiac disease should probably play it safe and avoid purchasing these.
Frequently Asked Questions
Do Kellogg’s Corn Flakes Have Gluten?
Unfortunately, in the United States, Kellogg’s Corn Flakes do contain gluten. However, Kellogg’s does offer gluten-free corn flakes in various countries. If you live outside of the US, keep your eyes peeled for this box on your next supermarket run.
Are Kellogg’s Corn Flake Crumbs Gluten-Free?
No, Kellogg’s Corn Flake Crumbs are not gluten-free. They’re made using Kellogg’s Corn Flakes, which contain malt (a glutinous ingredient).
Which Breakfast Cereals Are Gluten-Free?
We’ve actually already got a post featuring a comprehensive list of gluten-free cereal options. But there are so many options available to gluten-free consumers, including:
- Annie's Cinnabunnies
- Other varieties of Barbara’s cereal.
- Bob’s Red Mill Muesli Cereal
- Cascadian Farm Organic Berry Vanilla Puffs
- Cheerios (there should be a gluten-free label on the front). Canadian Cheerios do not have a gluten-free label.
- Fruity and Cocoa Pebbles
- Lucky Charms
- Varieties Nature’s Path cereals, like Crispy Rice Cereal.
Are All Corn Flakes Gluten-Free?
As you can see, not all corn flakes are gluten-free. Stick to our list of gluten-free cornflake brands (above), and your breakfast routine will be set!
Gluten-Free Breakfast Inspiration
So, are corn flakes gluten-free? Unfortunately, not every brand is. There are, however, enough companies offering gluten-free cornflakes to keep you satisfied – and plenty of breakfast recipes in our archive!
At Gluten-Free Palate, we’re here to prove that going gluten-free doesn’t mean boring meals. If you want to add some variety to your mornings, start with these gluten-free and dairy-free breakfast recipes.
If you’ve got a busy schedule, check out The Meal Prep Mindset. No matter your dietary requirements, it’s the easiest way to plan out your weekly meals!