By/ Last Modified On May 16, 2023
If you’re new to a gluten-free lifestyle, we know how overwhelming it can be to determine which spices, herbs, and seasonings are gluten-free. Trust us: We’ve been there.
This is why we’ve created this ultimate guide to gluten-free seasoning. We answer a long list of common questions and share the top gluten-free spice brands that’ll add “spice” to your new lifestyle.
Are Seasonings Gluten-Free?
Seasonings can encompass herbs and spices, but most people refer to seasonings as mixes or blends that use a combination of them to create a unique flavor. Common examples include taco seasoning and Old Bay seasoning.
The vast majority of herbs and spices are naturally gluten-free. However, like most food products, they can be cross-contaminated with glutinous ingredients during the production process. Some brands add anti-caking agents to their spice blends, including wheat flour, wheat starch, or yeast extract (which can also contain gluten).
Nowadays, major brands will include gluten-free labels wherever possible. That said, you’ll always want to double-check the packaging to ensure there’s nothing to worry about.
Tips on Buying Gluten-Free Seasonings, Spices, & Herbs
It’s all on the packaging. When herbs, seasonings, and spices are sold separately (with only one ingredient in the ingredients list), they should be gluten-free. This is the first step.
The second is to look for a gluten-free label. According to the FDA, products must contain less than 20 parts per million of gluten to be certified gluten-free. If manufacturers pass this test – and there’s no risk of cross-contamination – you’ll find a gluten-free label on their products.
What Seasonings Are Gluten-Free?
When purchasing gluten-free seasonings, remember to double-check the packaging to ensure they’re certified gluten-free (meaning that they don’t contain any trace amounts).
- Garlic salt
- Italian seasoning
- Curry powder
- Pumpkin pie spice
- Garam masala
- Taco seasoning
Note: One of the biggest “gluten offenders” to look out for is taco seasoning, which companies seem to love adding extra additives to. Fortunately, it’s super easy to make homemade gluten-free taco seasoning.
What Spices Are Gluten-Free?
There’s a long list of options, but these are the most popular options on our gluten-free spice list:
- Garlic powder
- Onion powder
- Chili powder
What Herbs Are Gluten-Free?
Just like with spices, if these dried or fresh herbs are sold separately, they should be naturally gluten-free:
- Bay leaf
Gluten-Free Seasoning and Spice Brands
Whether you’re looking for gluten-free seasonings, spices, or herbs, we’ve covered all bases with these gluten-free spice brands:
Badia Spices is proud to exclusively produce organic and gluten-free items. They sell nearly every herb and spice under the sun, as well as a long list of gluten-free seasoning blends. Here are just some of our favorite options:
- 14 Spices All-Purpose Seasoning
- Barbecue Seasoning
- Biscayne Bay Seafood Seasoning
- Curry Powder
- Fajita Seasoning
- Extra Fancy Pickling Spice
- Italian Seasoning
- Pumpkin Pie Spice
- Southern-Blend Poultry Seasoning
Look for the certified gluten-free label on Litehouse products and you’re set! The company’s specialty is freeze-dried herbs. You can buy basil, dill, jalapeno, red onion, and so much more.
Their certified gluten-free herb blends also include an Italian, poultry, guacamole, and salad dressing blend.
Magic Seasoning Blends
According to their website, “All Magic Seasoning Blends are gluten-free except for Breading Magic and Gumbo Gravy Magic.” Created by Chef Paul Prudhomme, the company offers nearly 70 seasoning blends. We don’t have time to list them all, but the most popular products include the following:
- Pizza and Pasta Magic
- Magic Barbecue Seasoning
- Seafood Magic
- Magic Salmon Seasoning
- Fajita Magic
- Poultry Magic
Spice giant McCormick states that a product containing gluten must be labeled on the packaging. The company goes on to state that any product with a gluten-free label is produced on certified gluten-free equipment.
Here is an extensive list of their gluten-free herbs and spices. As for seasoning blends, you have three certified gluten-free mixes:
Is Old Bay Seasoning Gluten-Free?
Yes, Old Bay is gluten-free! Produced by McCormick, it’s made with a combination of celery salt, spices, and paprika. As stated, their product labels will clearly state whether any trace amounts of gluten could be present.
Is Lawry’s Seasoned Salt Gluten-Free?
Lawry’s Seasoned Salt is produced by McCormick. While all of the ingredients are gluten-free, the product doesn’t have a certified gluten-free label. As with all McCormick products, if there is any gluten present, it will be stated on the packaging.
Morton & Bassett
Morton & Bassett products are certified organic, kosher, and gluten-free. Choose from a comprehensive collection of gluten-free spices, herbs, and seasonings. Their seasonings include every blend you could possibly want – and then some. This includes Blackened Seasoning, Espresso Rub, Jerk Seasoning, and Ras El Hanout.
Visit the Amazon shopfront to shop for their spices and bundles.
We’d be remiss not to mention the one and only Pioneer. While they don’t specialize in herbs and spices, they do offer two fantastic blends:
Simple Girl is a female-owned business operating out of St Louis. The team produces organic, sugar-free, and low-fat dressings, sauces, and seasonings. Their current offerings include:
- Southwest Seasoning
- Steak Seasoning
- Lemon Herb Seasoning
- All-Purpose Seasoning
- Hot Louisiana Seasoning
- BBQ Seasoning
Simply Organic is extremely transparent about its products’ ingredients. So while Simply Organic’s range of certified organic herbs and spices is also naturally gluten-free, you won’t necessarily find a gluten-free label on the packaging.
If you need more assurances, they do carry a certified gluten-free range of seasoning mixes, including:
Spicely Organics has a long list of certifications, but the one we care most about is its gluten-free certification. As stated on the website, this verifies that “every one of our products is cultivated, processed, and transported to ensure that we have genuinely 100% certified gluten-free spices, herbs, and seasonings.”
You can shop their herbs and spices on Amazon, but their seasonings will pique your interest, from pumpkin pie spice to Ethiopian Berbere, chimichurri, and Jamaican curry seasoning. Whatever flavor you’re feeling, you’ll probably find it at Spicely Organics.
The Spice Hunter
The Spice Hunter offers spices and spice blends that are certified by the Gluten Intolerance Group. Here are some of the highlights:
- Crunch Topper varieties - Everything Bagel, Garden Veggie, and Zesty Italian.
- Global Fusion Rub range - Chipotle Cinnamon, Smoky Turmeric, and Korean BBQ.
- Seasoning Mix selection - Fajita, Spicy Chili, White Bean and Chicken Chili, and Taco Seasoning.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Paprika Gluten-Free?
Yes, paprika is gluten-free. You’ll find paprika in several seasoning mixes, like Old Bay, Baharat, Jerk seasoning, and taco seasoning.
Are Salt and Pepper Gluten-Free?
Yes, both salt and pepper are gluten-free.
Is Onion Powder Gluten-Free?
Yes, onion powder is gluten-free but double-check the ingredients. While it should only contain onion, some companies might add binders or non-caking agents.
Is Garlic Powder Gluten-Free?
Yes, garlic powder is gluten-free. Just like with onion powder, double-check those ingredients to be safe.
What Ingredients Should I Look For in Gluten-Free Spices?
When buying gluten-free spices, stick to the list of products and brands above and double-check the packaging. If there is any chance of the product containing gluten, it will be listed.
Why Is Modified Food Starch Listed As An Ingredient?
Modified food starch is a stabilizer often added to seasoning blends. It can be made from potato, corn (i.e., cornstarch), or wheat. Most packaging will list the starch source so you’ll be able to identify whether it’s gluten-free or not.
Are Spices in Bulk Bins Gluten-Free?
While spices in bulk bins may be gluten-free, we recommend avoiding them. There’s a higher risk of cross-contamination if scoops happen to touch gluten items. To be safe, we suggest buying individually packaged seasonings and spices.
Recipes to Make With Gluten-Free Seasoning
Now that your pantry is stocked with gluten-free seasoning mixes, herbs, and spices, it’s time to get cooking! Here are just a few recipes for inspiration:
- Gluten-Free Chili. This recipe uses lots of spices.
- Gluten-Free Spice Cake. Perfect name for a perfect cake!
- Instant Pot Dal Makhani Curry, because we now know garam masala is gluten-free.
- Gluten-Free Sloppy Joes
- Gluten-Free Breadcrumbs. Add your favorite gluten-free seasoning or spices to elevate ordinary homemade breadcrumbs.
Turn up Your Kitchen Skills
Whether you’re new to the GF lifestyle – or feel bored with your go-to recipes – level up your cooking skills with a gluten-free cooking course.
From vegan to curries to baked goods, Udemy’s got a course for you!