By/ Last Modified On May 18, 2023
Looking for something to pair with your gluten-free spaghetti and unsure whether your pasta sauce fits the bill?
Is tomato sauce gluten-free? Unfortunately, there isn’t a simple yes-or-no answer for you. While a simple tomato sauce is naturally gluten-free, some varieties might include glutinous ingredients (or may even be cross-contaminated).
Today, we’re sharing a vast selection of our favorite gluten-free pasta sauce brands, including a homemade gluten-free spaghetti sauce recipe that any nonna would be proud of.
Is Tomato Sauce Gluten-Free?
Does tomato sauce have gluten? Maybe, maybe not!
The most basic tomato sauce is made with tomatoes, vegetables, oil, and spices. These ingredients are naturally gluten-free, but extra ingredients might be added to produce certain marinara or flavored pasta sauces. Some products may also be cross-contaminated during the production process.
An ingredient label might show gluten or refer to gluten-containing ingredients (e.g., wheat, rye, barley, oats). For products to carry a gluten-free label, they must contain less than 20 ppm. If the tomato sauce isn’t produced in a dedicated facility, it typically won’t declare it on the packaging.
Your best bet is to double-check products for a gluten-free label. Otherwise, make your own gluten-free tomato sauce.
Our Favorite Gluten-Free Spaghetti Sauce Recipe
This homemade red sauce recipe is from our gluten-free spaghetti post. It’s so quick and easy, you could be enjoying a big bowl of pasta in under 30 minutes!
- 1 cup chopped onion
- 2 minced garlic cloves
- 1 can (14.5 oz.) crushed tomatoes
- 15 oz. tomato sauce
- 6 oz. tomato paste
- ½ cup broth (veggie, beef, or chicken)
- 1 tablespoon dried basil
- 1 teaspoon dried oregano
- 1 teaspoon salt
- 1 teaspoon pepper
- In a large saucepan, saute the garlic and onion until translucent.
- Add all of the remaining ingredients to the saucepan and stir until combined.
- Bring to a light boil and then reduce the heat. Let the sauce simmer for 5-10 minutes, stirring occasionally.
- Serve over the cooked gluten-free pasta of your choice.
While this is a delicious vegetarian/vegan meal as-is, there are plenty of ways to customize it, including:
- Browning and seasoning ground beef or turkey with onion and garlic.
- Go an extra step and make gluten-free meatballs.
- Roasting some vegetables (like squash or zucchini) beforehand, then tossing them in at the end.
Our Top Gluten-Free Tomato Sauce Brands
You’ll need the right tomato sauce to make a delicious pasta sauce. There’s a bit of overlap, so we’ll keep this short and sweet.
- Barilla Tomato Sauce
- Cento Italiano Tomato Sauce
- Contadina’s Tomato Sauce
- Includes: Tomato Sauce, No-Added Sugar Tomato Sauce, Sauce with Italian Herbs, and Extra Thick and Zesty Tomato Sauce.
- Dei Fratelli All-Purpose Tomato Sauce
- Del Monte Canned Tomato Sauce
- Franceso Rinaldi Original Tomato Sauce
- Hunt’s Tomato Sauce (one of the most popular in the US)
- Tuttorosso Tomato Sauce
Our Favorite Gluten-Free Pasta Sauce Brands
If you want to use a jarred product, we’ve got you covered. Here’s our long list of delicious gluten-free pasta sauce recommendations.
Amy’s Kitchen says, “Gluten-free is practically our middle name.” With safeguards that assure FDA guidelines, their two most popular organic pasta sauce options are Tomato Basil and Family Marinara Sauce.
Nearly all of Barilla’s pasta sauces are gluten-free:
- Red Wine and Garlic
Note: Their pesto sauces are not gluten-free.
Cento is known for its premium Italian products. All of their pasta sauces are made with Italian tomatoes. In addition to their All-Purpose Pasta Sauce, their gluten-free pasta sauce range is extensive and includes:
- Arrabiata - Crushed red pepper flakes give this a kick!
- Vodka - “The perfect blend of tomatoes, heavy cream, and a variety of cheeses.”
- Porcini - Italian tomatoes combined with porcini mushrooms? Say no more!
Note: Bellino Spaghetti Sauce also falls under the Cento umbrella and is gluten-free.
Classico is one of the most popular pasta sauce brands, and we’re happy to report that their range is also gluten-free. If we listed every one of their sauces, we’d be here a while, but it definitely includes Organic, Alfredo, and all of their red pasta varieties.
Dei Fratelli confirms on its website that every one of its sauces is gluten-free and that no gluten enters its facility either. They have a wide selection of pasta sauces available:
- Arrabiata Pasta Sauce, a.k.a “The Spicy One.”
- Fire-Roasted Vegetable (the perfect way to sneak veggies into your kids’ favorite pasta dish).
- Tomato and Basil
Eden Foods is a Michigan-based company. 80% of their products are double-certified organic, and they follow strict manufacturing procedures to prevent cross-contamination.
While all of Eden Foods’ sauces are gluten-free, they regularly send their products for third-party testing to ensure that’s the case. You can choose between Pizza Pasta Sauce and Spaghetti Sauce.
Though it’s a smaller company, Francesco Rinaldi is proud to declare that all its products are gluten-free and made with Italian recipes. If you’re searching for an authentic Italian pasta sauce brand, look no further. As you can imagine, their range is comprehensive:
- Tomato and Basil
- Tomato, Garlic, & Onion
- Sweet and Tasty Tomato
- Garden Combo
- Three Cheese
- Roasted Garlic Alfredo Sauce
La Dee Da
Hailing from Ontario, La Dee Da offers a variety of gourmet, plant-based, vegan, and gluten-free pasta sauces. Their Loaded Veggie sauce is loaded with 12 different vegetables and the company also offers tasty varieties like mushroom, cauliflower alfredo, and butternut squash sauce.
Gluten-free, vegan, vegetarian, and Non-GMO, Organico Bello ticks many boxes. You can choose between Marinara, Spicy Marinara, Tomato & Basil, or Kale, Tomato, & Basil.
Their Delicate Recipe is a traditional, low-sodium tomato sauce made without onions or garlic (ideal for people with food sensitivities). You can also get this organic pasta sauce delivered directly to your door.
Organicville’s gluten-free Tomato Basil Pasta Sauce is made from vine-ripened California tomatoes and other whole ingredients. It’s Whole30-approved and keto-friendly.
Owned by the Campbell Soup Company, Prego confirms that its products undergo a rigorous two-step testing process before being verified as gluten-free. Some of their options include:
Rao's Specialty Foods
Rao’s is a legendary NYC restaurant, and this collection of handcrafted pasta sauces brings Rao’s to your kitchen. Fortunately, most are gluten-free (and produced in a dedicated facility).
- Homemade Marinara Sauce
- Arrabiata Sauce
- Tomato Basil Sauce
- Bolognese Sauce
- Mushroom and Bell Pepper Sauce
- Homemade Vodka Sauce
- Italian Sausage and Mushroom Sauce
- Roasted Garlic Sauce
- Four Cheese Sauce
Frequently Asked Questions
Can Celiacs Eat Tomato Sauce?
Absolutely, people with celiac disease can eat gluten-free tomato sauce. There are tons of companies that currently produce high-quality (and delicious) gluten-free tomato sauces.
Do Canned Tomatoes Contain Gluten?
No. If your canned tomatoes should be naturally gluten-free if they only contain one ingredient (tomatoes). However, some companies add extra ingredients to their canned tomatoes, like additives and flavors. Always double-check the packaging to ensure it doesn’t contain any glutinous ingredients.
Is Tomato Paste Gluten-Free?
Yes, tomato paste is naturally gluten-free, but be sure to check all labels.
Is Marinara Sauce Gluten-Free?
No, not all marinara sauce brands are gluten-free! Sometimes they’re made with glutinous ingredients or produced in a gluten-containing facility. Keep your eyes peeled for a gluten-free label – and always double-check the ingredients.
Is Spaghetti Sauce Gluten-Free?
Most spaghetti sauce is naturally gluten-free. But once again, some companies will add extra ingredients like additives and flavorings that can contain gluten. So when shopping for jarred spaghetti sauce, double-check the ingredients and look for that gluten-free label.
What Can I Make With Tomato Sauce?
In addition to pasta sauce, tomato sauce is an ingredient in countless dishes, including the following:
Looking to Upgrade Your Cooking Skills?
Is tomato sauce gluten-free? It usually is, but to make the process easier, select from our favorite brands or use our foolproof homemade recipe.
Whether you’re just starting out on your gluten-free journey – or are ready to upgrade your kitchen skills – check out these expert gluten-free cooking classes!