By/ Last Modified On January 21, 2024
We are talking about all things gluten free cider, sharing some of our favorite brands of gluten free ciders and we've included a gluten free mulled cider recipe that is perfect for anyone who loves all types of ciders: gluten free cider, gluten free hard cider, and gluten free mulled cider.
There are a lot of people who as is cider gluten free, is hard cider gluten free, and they want to know which brands of ciders are gluten free. We're sharing the answers to all three questions plus a recipe for a quick and simple mulled cider.
Is Cider Gluten Free?
Before we talk about which ciders are gluten free, let's answer the question on everyone's mind, Is cider gluten free?
The answer is, "Yes and no."
Many ciders are gluten free. Cider is usually made from apples, pears, or other specialty fruits and are usually made without gluten ingredients.
BUT, some brands of cider do use barley for enzymes and flavor, so always check labels.
Is Hard Cider Gluten Free?
Similar to the answer to is cider gluten free, "yes and no."
Many hard ciders are gluten free but some brands use barley for enzymes and flavor. Also, depending on which alcohol they use, there may also be gluten in the alcohol.
A lot of gluten free ciders will say "gluten free" on the label but we always recommend to check labels to be safe.
I've included a list of gluten free hard ciders in this post below. Remember, even if you have a favorite cider, always check labels as ingredients can change.
Is Angry Orchard Cider Gluten Free?
Yes, Angry Orchard Cider is gluten free. Every cider that Angry Orchard currently makes is actually gluten free. I am going to repeat this every time, always check labels as ingredients can change.
Is Strongbow Cider Gluten Free?
Yes, all of Strongbow’s ciders are currently gluten free. Again, always check labels as ingredients can change.
Is Magners Cider Gluten Free?
Yes, both Magner’s original apple and pear ciders are gluten free, and fabulous I might add. Always check labels as ingredients can change.
We switched from beer to cider when we found out we couldn't have gluten. We tend to stick to dry ciders vs. the sweeter ones.
If you love ciders than you'll love these gluten free ciders. Please remember to check the ingredients on the labels and ingredients can change.
Gluten Free Cider Brands
Blue Mountain Cider Company
Gaymer Cider Company
If you love a good, warm mulled cider I have the perfect gluten free mulled cider recipe for you. When making this mulled cider recipe, be sure you are using a gluten free cider and a gluten free alcohol.
For this gluten free mulled cider recipe, I used a local organic apple cider and James F.C. Hyde Sorgho Whiskey. But you can use your favorite apple cider and gluten free whiskey.
Is James F.C. Hyde Sorgho Whiskey Gluten Free?
James F.C. Hyde Sorgho Whiskey is gluten free. It's a whiskey made from 100% sorghum. They don't use barley for enzymes or flavor. The gluten is distilled out. But of course, when in doubt, leave it out.
Related: Is Whiskey Gluten-Free?
Making gluten free mulled cider is super simple. You add all the ingredients, the cider, whiskey, and spices, to a sauce pan and you simmer it for about 10 minutes. If you like your mulled cider on the sweeter side, you can add a touch of honey (maybe, 1 tablespoon max).
What is your favorite cider? Did you make this gluten free mulled cider? If so, please leave me a comment below letting me know what you thought.
- ½ gallon apple cider
- 1 tablespoon whole cloves
- 1 tablespoon whole allspice
- 1 tablespoon whole star anise
- 5-6 cinnamon sticks
- 1 medium orange, sliced into rounds. Save half for garnish.
- gluten free whiskey
- In a medium size cook pan combine all of the ingredients except for the whiskey. Simmer over low heat for about 10 minutes. Do not boil.
- Pour hot apple cider into glasses, and add the desired amount of whiskey.
- Garnish with orange slices, cinnamon sticks, star anise.
- 1 tablespoon honey can help cut the tanginess of the orange.
- Omit the whiskey for a alcohol free apple cider.
- You can use your whiskey of choice. Cinnamon whiskey adds a fun and spicy twist.
Amount Per Serving: Calories: 147Total Fat: 1gSaturated Fat: 0gTrans Fat: 0gUnsaturated Fat: 0gCholesterol: 0mgSodium: 16mgCarbohydrates: 33gFiber: 2gSugar: 25gProtein: 1g
This nutrition info is based on the exact ingredients and brands that I used a the time. It may not be 100% accurate. Please check your ingredients nutrition labels.